Archive for March 4th, 2011

March 4, 2011

Garden State Gamer: Ian Kenny

Check out the awesome (and heavy!) Lancer made by TriForce from the Gears of War game.

I’m one of the many poor souls who dreamed of breaking into the entertainment industry at a young age, but settled for a corporate job when the bills started to roll in.  So now in my attempts to suppress the bitterness within, I sit atop my high horse and criticize the people who actually made it.

Iconic Things or People:

Zombies, Hayao Miyazaki, Hunter S. Thompson, Gene Roddenberry, My Little Sister

TV Shows:

Star Trek: The Next Generation, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Rurouni Kenshin, Farscape, Avatar: The Last Airbender

read more »

March 4, 2011

All Will Meyers Told Me About Brewing My Own Beer is to be Clean

By Katie Kenny

Check out my next entry to hear about my first brewing experience

A couple months ago, I wrote an article titled “Tapping into Boston’s Craft Beer” and was lucky enough to interview the Cambridge Brewing Company’s brewmaster, Will Meyers. This article was the reason Boston Brew started and Meyers helped me out a little when I made my own brew at home.

The beginning of this interview is in the previous post so if you haven’t read it you best get on it.

Alright, so I hope you know that you have an awesome job title. What exactly does a Cambridge Brewing Company “brewmaster” do? Where do you get your inspiration and what is your process for crafting your brews?

Well, I direct an amazing brewing staff of four, and together we make incredible, award-winning beers! We focus both on traditional interpretations of well-known beer styles and on obscure beer styles, and on experimental brews never before seen on earth.

read more »

March 4, 2011

Boston Branch: Helene Hamady

I’m a Lebanese-American Druze from Lebanon. I am an aspiring Photojournalist—in particular, I love Documentary Journalism. I love exploring languages and cultures (I speak French and Arabic), playing the violin and piano and sculpting, painting and working with glass and metal. I’ve lived in America on the East Coast, in Europe, and in Lebanon. I used to act a lot in operas and musicals when I was younger so I have a special love for them. I was Waldorf Educated but I don’t recall any German. I also love soccer and yoga, and I was once a vegan for four years but now I love meat.

I’m moving back to Beirut in May to hopefully work on somehow better facilitating the connection between people and information; its free-flow and organization thereof, in Lebanon and the Middle East!

read more »

March 4, 2011

Boston Branch: Andrew Luk

Andrew Luk is a force not to be meddled with. And, like anyone worth a good God Damn, he says it like it is. As a multi-cultural trilingual blogger/fine artist/photographer/Karmaloop employee, he has garnered something of a unique disposition of the world around him. While always creatively opinionated, he is consistently observant and valid. And, although you may not always see eye to eye with him; where is an open mind, there will always be a frontier.

(He’s really not this confrontational)

www.bluecanvas.com/andrewluk
http://andrewluk.wordpress.com/
http://www.facebook.com/people/Andrew-Luk/17909745

Iconic People and Things

Bruce Lee, George Orwell, Aldous Huxley, Da Vinci, Stefan Sagmeister

read more »