Archive for March 22nd, 2011

March 22, 2011

Here’s what you missed last week on the box: The Roast of Donald Trump

By Lindsay Burrill / Boston

By far, the funniest event on TV last week goes to the Roast of Donald Trump, hosted by Family Guy’s Seth McFarlane.  The usual roasters Jeffrey Ross, and Lisa Lampanelli were in attendance, but sadly Greg Giraldo was not. He passed away in September, but newby Anthony Jeselnik handled the job well.

Special guest roasters included Larry King, Snoop Dogg, Whitney Cummings, Mike Sorrentino, aka the Situation (yeah, he was invited for some strange reason, but I’ll get to his terrible performance in a minute) and Marlee Matlin (deaf actress, currently on celebrity apprentice).

read more »

March 22, 2011

Konad Nail Art

By Tanya Barlow / Auckland, New Zealand

Have you ever tried nail art? I’d read about the Konad nail art craze and had to try it for myself. I purchased my little kit from Amazon.com, but you can also find them here. If you keep an eagle eye out at your local nail salons, they might have them too- I saw some in Auckland just the other day. I picked up the Scraper and Double Ended Stamper set, as well as plates M56, M57, M79 and M3.

So first of all, just like whenever I try something new for the first time, I looked up a tutorial on youtube. Here’s the easiest one, though it’s a little long!

Trying Konad For The First Time (Sorry guys, embedding was disabled by request)

I went for China Glaze in Spontaneous as a base, and used a black nail polish from Precision. From various reviews I’d read, I don’t think it really matters which brand of nail polish you use for stamping. At least that’s what I’ve found, anyway.

Here’s the result! (Apologies for the cuticles, yikes!)

read more »

March 22, 2011

TV Show Round Up: Tuesday

By Lindsay Burrill / Boston

To help summarize the best moments of the week, Joel McHale puts together the funniest clips of those shows you really don’t want to spend the time watching. Here’s what I found to be his best stuff for the week (I guess that means I’m summarizing a summary).

Bethenny Frankel learns about a big gay ice cream truck, The Bad Girls Club got a new housemate, who apparently has a drinking problem…or is it a peeing problem? You decide. Phil on Survivor, the “ex-federal agent,” gets a little gropey with his fellow castmates.

read more »

March 22, 2011

Through His Eyes

By Andrew Luk / Boston