Meet our New York City Correspondent, Allie Ferrara

In short, I am a polyglot, turophiliac, writer, foodie and wino, Arabist, LGBT activist and a corporate misfit.

Originally from the South but raised in the North, my favorite foods are from the far east. By day I work on Wall Street, by night I work on just about everything else from my fledgling first book to my recipes.

I am Smith College educated and with that, a firebrand feminist. You can hear my opinions on just about everything by following me on Twitter or on Yelp.

Iconic things in your life

Erica Jong’s Fear of Flying, Fran Lebowitz, Simone de Beauvoir, Joan Didion and yes, even Lady Gaga.

TV shows

Iron Chef, True Blood, Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations, Arrested Development and Dog the Bounty Hunter. My TV choices are not always indicative of my intelligence.

Movies

Inception, 300

Exit Through The Gift Shop

Amelie and Big Night

Fashion Necessities

Black skinny jeans, Diorshow mascara, an oversized handbag, Jeffrey Campbell wedges and MAC Satin lipstick.

Food Related Things

Siracha sauce, cilantro, Israeli labne, Masala Chaat seasoning and Pyrex

Drink of Choice

Vodka Soda or Lychee Martini

Leave a comment