Easter Recipe #1: Maple Eggs

By Allie Ferrara / New York City

Photo Credit: Love At First Bite blog

I have great memories of Easter holidays past. Who doesn’t love an excuse to gorge on chocolate bunnies, wear pastels unashamedly for one day of the year and if you’re the church going type, don a Kentucky Derby-esque wide brim hat to services because it’s Easter and why the hell not.

This is what Easter looked like in 2004. I don’t ever want to think about those light blue Uggs again.

Eating with the Ferrara’s on any holiday is no easy task. For a family of three, we must purchase enough for a family of thirty but assure ourselves somewhere between the second antipasti (yes, second) and third bottle of wine we will manage to stay hungry for the main course. It never really works out that way and usually my scary fit-for-sixty father is left like Mikey from the Life Cereal ad, finishing all the food my mother and I couldn’t even start. Needless to say, they don’t have to cook dinner for the following week.

Our Easter dining fare is a celebration of both my parent’s heritages. Kielbasa and hard boiled eggs are served for breakfast to remind my father of his part Polish – part Italian household; braciole and pasta Bolognese for dinner to honor my mother’s Italian heritage. However, this Easter, I’d like to share with you one of my favorite brunch recipes I learned from the gracious owner, Suzanne, of the The Governor’s House in Hyde Park, Vermont.

Maple Eggs

You will need:

  • Muffin pan
  • Non stick canola oil spray (i.e. PAM)
  • Eggs
Maple syrup (none of that Aunt Jemima crap. Invest in some Grade A dark amber. Your guests will thank me)

  • Butter
Cinnamon raisin bread, sliced


Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Spray your muffin pan with nonstick spray. Next, cut the crusts off the cinnamon raisin bread. Roll your bread flat with a rolling pin so it’s malleable enough to fit into the muffin pan.

Heat a ½ cup of syrup and a ¼ cup of butter in a saucepan until melted. Brush each side of your flattened bread slices and place into muffin pan slots. Crack an egg into each bread cup and put into the oven for about fifteen minutes or until the egg white starts to set.

Serve with more maple syrup and your favorite side. If you’re not automatically thinking bacon there’s something wrong with you.

Leave a comment